Dr. Govind
Sr. Principal Scientist & Associate Professor (AcSIR)
Advanced Materials and Device Metrology Division
Email address:
Brief Biodata:

Name: Dr. Govind

Designation: Principal Scientist and Associate Professor (AcSIR)

Division: Advanced Materials & Device Metrology

Sub-Division: Thin Film Devices & Metrology

Email: ,

Phone: +91-11-45608403, 45609403, 45721079

Fax: +91-11-45609310 (O)

Mobile: +91-9811930735

Research Interest: Development of Solid State Gas Sensors, III-Nitride systems, Surface & Interface Physics

Publications in SCI Journals : > 170

Dr. Govind has made significant contributions in the field of semiconductor heterojunctions which is essentially beneficial for the fabrication of next generation optoelectronic devices. His research endeavor has made a strong impact in the field of epitaxial growth & fabrication of III-nitride semiconductor based optoelectronic & photovoltaic devices. Currently, he is engaged in the fabrication of metal Oxide and Nitride based gas sensors and also taking initiative to set up National Facility for Testing & Certification of solid state sensors.  He has expertise in the growth of high quality semiconducting materials using molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) and characterization techniques such as highly sophisticated surface sensitive X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS), Ultraviolet Photoelectron spectroscopy, Auger electron spectroscopy (AES), Low energy electron diffraction (LEED), Scanning tunneling microscopy (STM), and optical characterization via Photoluminescence (PL) , transient time resolved spectroscopy (TRPL) at room temperature as well as at low temperatures (upto 10K). His expertise has extensively been utilized to understand the surfaces/interfaces properties & electronic structure of III-nitride semiconductors, metallic/semiconductor nanoparticles, thin films, core shell nanoparticles, 2D-exotic materials (Graphene, Graphene Oxide, MoS 2 ), etc for the fabrication of advanced devices.

Dr. Govind is a recipient of prestigious Materials Research Society of India (MRSI) medal (2018) for his significant contribution to Materials Science & Technology.  He is also a recipient of National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award (2010), Outstanding Scientist of the Year Award from CSIR-National Physical Laboratory, India (2009), Young Scientist Award by IFW-ICNN, India (2009), BOYSCAST fellowship by Department of Science & Technology, India (2007) for his contribution in the area of material science.