मिश्र अर्धचालक प्रकाशवोल्टीय हेतु रासायनिक मार्ग

Chemical Route for Compound Semiconductor Photovoltaics is involved in synthesis and characterization materials for photovaltaics by chemical route.

Research activities

  • Development & Characterization of CIGSe & related materials prepared by non-vacuum process (colloidal route). This work on Thin film Photovoltaics is  being funded by Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) since June 2011 and the total duration of the project is 4 years. As a Co-PI in this project our team responsible for the development of CIGS thin films. The main objective of the project is to realize the process for CIGS based solar cell (module area ~ 15x15 cm2;efficiency ~12%) by chemical route (Ink jet printing).
  • For the first time in CSIR- NPL, colloidal synthesis of CISe, CIGSe and CZTSe (replacing In in CISe with cheap and earth abundant elements) using organic capping agents TOP/TOPO has been carried out successfully. Preliminary results indicate pure-phase nanocrystals of chalcopyrites with no signatures of any peaks associated with the binary phase. Annealing studies at higher temperatures (~ 550 °C) and light-soaking experiments for longer duration is a further testimonial to their stability with superior optical and morphological properties.
  • In addition to above, to facilitate efficient charge/energy transfer across organic (polymer)-inorganic(semiconductor nanocrystal) interface for application in photovoltaics, role of different polymer matrices (MEH-PPV, P3HT) and inorganic nanocrystals (CdSe, CIGSe-related materials) has been identified. Development of CZTSSe and core-shell (CZTSe-CZTS) has been looked into.

Important facilities

S. No.

Title of the Facility

My role in brief



Photoluminescence (PL) and UV-VIS-NIR absorption spectroscopy.

Responsible for the maintenance of  these systems. Actively involved in the characterization work for various samples given through these systems.

CSIR-NPL scientists and students.


Fourier transform infrared (FTIR)Spectroscopy




Dynamic light Scattering (DLS)



Dr. Shailesh N. Sharma (Principal Scientist)
Dr. R. Jeya Kumar (Principal Scientist)


Notable Achievements (if any):

Best poster award (consolation Prize) for the poster entitled “Transition from CZTSe to CZTS via Multicomponent CZTSSe: Potential Low Cost Photovoltaic Absorbers” by Parul Chawla, Shailesh N. Sharma, Parth Vashishtha and Suresh Chand presented at TAPSUN Conference held at NPL during 4-5th Dec. 2012.

संपर्क जानकारी