Physico-Mechanical Metrology

CSIR-National Physical Laboratory (NPL-India) is mandated to be India's “National Measurement Institute” (NMI) by an act of Parliament and its associated rules for legal metrology. CSIR-NPL is the custodian of “National Standards” with a responsibility of realization, establishment, up gradation, maintenance and dissemination of standards at par to international level through R and D and latest technology. CSIR-NPL's National Metrology has not only championed in its primary mandate as the custodian of Measurement Standards for the nation but also served the Indian industry, academia and strategic sectors to excel in their endeavors.

CSIR-NPL maintains international equivalence of its standards by way of Intercomparison. It represents India in CIPM - Mutual Recognition Arrangement of NMIs. It maintains a quality system in accordance with ISO- IEC 17025:2005 and its calibration and measurement capabilities (CMCs) are peer reviewed by international experts for mutual recognition. These CMCs are displayed in Appendix C of MRA at

This division has a mandate to realize, establish, upgrade, maintain and disseminate standards for various Physico - Mechanical parameters. These include, Mass, Length , Dimension and Nano-metrology; Optical Radiation; Force and hardness ; Pressure , Vacuum and U ltrasonic s; Acoustics and Vibration; Fluid flow. The measurements capabilities of NPL are efficiently disseminated among various stake-holders in the country for the benefit of the nation.

We are offering dissemination of apex calibration facilities not only to Indian industries, strategic-sector, and academia and government agencies but also to the SAARC and other Nations. CSIR–NP L 's National Metrology, owing to its untiring efforts on precision measurement and its dissemination, has occupied a pivotal position for the all-round development of the country.

Go to Calibration and Testing offered



Scientist Incharge
Dr. Sanjay Yadav
Chief Scientist & Head Physico-Mechanical Metrology Division                
Ph: +91-11-  47091206 / 4560 9210 / 4560 8315

Head, Physico-Mechanical Metrology Division
Room No. 109, CSIR - National Physical Laboratory
Dr. K. S. Krishnan Marg
New Delhi - 110012


Major Work Areas Contact Person E-mail ID
Mass Metrology Section Mr. Goutam Mandal (Principal Scientist)
Length , Dimension and Nano Metrology Section Dr. Rina Sharma (Chief Scientist)
Temperature and Humidity Metrology Section Dr. D. D. Shivagan (Principal Scientist)
Optical Radiation Metrology Section Mr. V. K. Jaiswal (Principal Scientist)
Force and Hardness Metrology Section Dr. S. S. K. Titus (Sr. Principal Scientist)
Pressure, Vacuum and Ultrasonic Metrology Dr. Sanjay Yadav (Chief Scientist)
Acoustics and Vibration Metrology Dr. Mahavir Singh (Chief Scientist)
Fluid Flow Measurement Metrology Section Dr. S. K. Jaiswal (Sr. Principal Scientist)